How to delete your Twitter account
Tired of Twitter? Here are the simple steps to take to delete your account.
By Danielle Wolf
There’s no question that Twitter can provide a wealth of information, from breaking news to funny memes and lively debates. However, at times, it can also be overwhelming, addictive and just plain unpleasant.
If you’re sick of the 280-character micro-blogging platform, it might be time to wave goodbye to your account once and for all. Luckily, it’s easy to delete your Twitter account, if you know where to look.
In order to permanently delete your account, Twitter requires that you first deactivate it. Your information will be stored for 30 days, during which time you can reactivate your account at any time. After the 30 days, Twitter will erase your information and you will not be able to reactivate your account.
Once deactivated, your username, display name and profile will no longer be visible on twitter.com or in the app.
Twitter recommends making your username and email address available for re-use before you deactivate the account, if you think you might want to return to the app at some point in the future. To do this, just change your username and email address in the Profile Settings area. Make sure to confirm the change by clicking the link in the confirmation email Twitter will send before you continue with deactivation.
How to delete Twitter on desktop:
1. Click on your profile icon in the top right hand corner, then select “Settings and Privacy.”
Please read the article for complete steps.